Congratulations to the 2017 World Fantasy Award Winners!

This years’ World Fantasy Awards ceremony was held today (November 5th, 2017) in San Antonio, TX . Below is the list of finalists, with the winners of each category in bold.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Terry Brooks
Marina Warner

Best Novel

  • Borderline, Mishell Baker (Saga)
  • The Sudden Appearance of Hope, Claire North (Redhook; Orbit UK)
  • Roadsouls, Betsy James (Aqueduct)
  • The Obelisk Gate, N.K. Jemisin (Orbit US; Orbit UK)
  • Lovecraft Country, Matt Ruff (Harper)

Best Long Fiction

  • The Ballad of Black Tom, Victor LaValle ( Publishing)
  • Every Heart a Doorway, Seanan McGuire ( Publishing)
  • The Dream-Quest of Vellitt Boe, Kij Johnson ( Publishing)
  • “Bloodybones”, Paul F. Olson (Whispered Echoes)
  • A Taste of Honey, Kai Ashante Wilson ( Publishing)

Best Short Fiction

  • “Our Talons Can Crush Galaxies”, Brooke Bolander (Uncanny 11-12/16)
  • “Seasons of Glass and Iron”, Amal El-Mohtar (The Starlit Wood)
  • “Little Widow”, Maria Dahvana Headley (Nightmare 9/16)
  • “Das Steingeschöpf”, G.V. Anderson (Strange Horizons 12/12/16)
  • “The Fall Shall Further the Flight in Me”, Rachael K. Jones (Clockwork Phoenix 5)

Best Anthology

  • Clockwork Phoenix 5, Mike Allen, ed. (Mythic Delirium)
  • Children of Lovecraft, Ellen Datlow, ed. (Dark Horse)
  • The Best American Science Fiction and Fantasy 2016, Karen Joy Fowler & John Joseph Adams, eds. (Mariner)
  • Dreaming in the Dark, Jack Dann, ed. (PS Australia)
  • The Starlit Wood, Dominik Parisien & Navah Wolfe, eds. (Saga)

Best Collection

  • Sharp Ends, Joe Abercrombie (Orbit US; Gollancz)
  • On the Eyeball Floor and Other Stories, Tina Connolly (Fairwood)
  • A Natural History of Hell, Jeffrey Ford (Small Beer)
  • Vacui Magia, L.S. Johnson (Traversing Z Press)
  • The Paper Menagerie and Other Stories, Ken Liu (Saga; Head of Zeus)

Best Artist

  • Greg Bridges
  • Julie Dillon
  • Jeffrey Alan Love 
  • Paul Lewin
  • Victo Ngai

Special Award, Professional

  • L. Timmel Duchamp, for Aqueduct Press
  • Michael Levy & Farah Mendlesohn, for Children’s Fantasy Literature: An Introduction (Cambridge University Press)
  • C.C. Finlay, for editing F&SF
  • Kelly Link, for contributions to the genre
  • Joe Monti, for contributions to the genre

Special Award, Non-Professional

  • Scott H. Andrews, for Beneath Ceaseless Skies
  • Malcolm R. Phifer & Michael C. Phifer, for their publication The Fantasy Illustration Library, Volume Two: Gods and Goddesses (Michael Publishing)
  • Lynne M. Thomas & Michael Damian Thomas, for Uncanny
  • Neile Graham, for fostering excellence in the genre through her role as Workshop Director, Clarion West
  • Brian White, for Fireside Fiction Company

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *