Congratulations to the 2016 World Fantasy Award winners!

wfcThe winners of this years’ World Fantasy awards, held every year the World Fantasy convention, were announced earlier today in Columbus, Ohio.

The winner for each category is listed below. To see the full list of finalists, click here.


  • The Chimes, Anna Smaill (Sceptre)

Long Fiction

  • The Unlicensed Magician, Kelly Barnhill (PS)

Short Fiction

  • “Hungry Daughters of Starving Mothers”, Alyssa Wong (Nightmare 10/15)


  • She Walks in Shadows, Silvia Moreno-Garcia & Paula R. Stiles, eds. (Innsmouth Free Press)


  • Bone Swans, C.S.E. Cooney (Mythic Delirium)


  • Galen Dara

Special Award, Professional

  • Stephen Jones, for The Art of Horror (Applause Theatre & Cinema)

Special Award, Nonprofessional

  • John O’Neill, for Black Gate: Adventures in Fantasy Literature

Congratulations to all of the winners and the finalists from us at the Arched Doorway!

Rebecca created The Arched Doorway back in 2011 as an outlet for her thoughts on the books she reads. She spends her time as a freelance editor and reviewer. Her first anthology, Neverland's Library, came out in 2014 from Ragnarok Publications. Rebecca primarily reads historical and epic fantasy novels, such as those by Brandon Sanderson, Robert Jordan, Christian Cameron and Terry Brooks. She lives in Toronto, ON with her two snakes and hundreds of books.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *